Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu

Head-to-head verdict

CoreAge Rx vs Virta Health

Two GLP-1 providers, compared side by side on The Verdict Score — our published six-factor rubric. Same yardstick, and no score is adjusted for payment.

Published by The GLP-1 Verdict

Pricing sources checked: CoreAge Rx: August 2026 · Virta Health: Check date not recorded

WinnerGrade A · #1

CoreAge Rx

The most honest middle of the market: nationwide access, both molecules at one flat, no-surprise price.

Visit CoreAge Rx
vs
Grade C · #457

Virta Health

Virta Health is a nutrition-first virtual program for diabetes reversal and sustainable weight loss, distributed through employers and health plans at no cost to members.

Visit Virta Health

The verdict

Winner: CoreAge Rx

CoreAge Rx takes it with a higher Verdict Score — 94/100 to 53/100 (grade A vs C). Anyone who wants transparent flat pricing and nationwide access without a teaser-rate bait-and-switch. Virta Health still earns its place — shoppers who want plan members wanting nutrition-first care with optional monitored GLP-1 use.

The score compares published program terms and features; it does not measure clinical outcomes or predict which treatment will suit you.

Factor by factor

Both scored on the same six factors — see the methodology. The brass bar marks the stronger side on each.

92Real-world results69
97Price honesty20
96Prescriber access60
88Formulary choice46
95Cancellation fairness56
93Member support75

Price, coverage & features

MetricCoreAge RxVirta Health
Verdict Score94/10053/100
GradeAC
Semaglutide$99/moNot disclosed
Tirzepatide$149/moNot disclosed
CoverageAll 50 statesNot disclosed
Brand-name accessCompounded onlyCompounded only
Oral / sublingualNoYes

CoreAge Rx

What we like

  • Flat, all-in monthly price with no intro-rate step-ups after month one
  • Both compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide on one account
  • Available in all 50 states
  • Straightforward, low-friction cancellation

The caveats

  • Not the cheapest — flat-price challengers like Trimi Health and Alan Meds undercut its sticker price
  • No FDA-approved brand-name option (compounded only)
  • Does not yet publicly name its 503A/B pharmacy partner

Virta Health

What we like

  • Offers a Responsible Prescribing track with optimized GLP-1 use
  • Clinically monitored medication off-ramp toward nutrition therapy
  • Nutrition-first model shown to rival GLP-1 weight loss (about 13% at 1 year)
  • Provided at no cost to members through employers and health plans
  • Strong evidence base for diabetes reversal and metabolic health

The caveats

  • Primarily a nutrition program; GLP-1s are a secondary track
  • Distributed via employers and health plans, no direct cash-pay
  • Deliberately discourages GLP-1 use for most members
  • GLP-1 access depends on the specific program the plan selects

Our pick — visit

Anyone who wants transparent flat pricing and nationwide access without a teaser-rate bait-and-switch.

Visit CoreAge Rx Read the full CoreAge Rx review →

Also worth a look

Shoppers who want plan members wanting nutrition-first care with optional monitored GLP-1 use.

Visit Virta Health Read the full Virta Health review →

Keep comparing

Neither of these has to be the answer: the rivals we rank against CoreAge Rx cover the 7 programs closest to it, and the same shortlist for Virta Health does the reverse.

Or browse the full comparison hub, every head-to-head A to Z and the complete rankings.

Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on each provider's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.