Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu
Ranked #483 · Grade C

JumpstartMD review

By Alyssa Selinger, EditorPricing checked

JumpstartMD in brief

JumpstartMD suits Californians who want a real clinic team, weekly coaching and labs, not a mail-order prescription. The online weight-loss membership is $99 a month ($199 in clinic), after a first assessment that is $99 on a limited-time offer. The catch: medication is billed on top, and compounded drug prices are not published.

  • Price$99/mo membership + medication
Visit JumpstartMD

Assume we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Partners we work with carry a small, fixed edge in where they are listed; the scores themselves are not adjusted.

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
1 state
Brand-name
Compounded only

JumpstartMD pricing

As listed on JumpstartMD's own site, October 2026.

JumpstartMD plans and prices, October 2026
Initial assessmentPrice $99Billing One time, limited-time offer (listed as $379 otherwise)Includes One-on-one clinician appointment, 60-biomarker lab panel, InBody scan, treatment plan
Weight loss membership, onlinePrice $99/moBilling Monthly; medication billed separatelyIncludes Clinician visits, medical supervision, lifestyle and nutrition coaching
Weight loss membership, in clinicPrice $199/moBilling Monthly; medication billed separatelyIncludes In-person visits at a California clinic, coaching, supervision
GLP-1 medicationPrice Not publishedBilling Brand via insurance or pharmacy; compounded billed by JumpstartMDIncludes Price quoted after the clinician visit

Our take on JumpstartMD

JumpstartMD is a California medical weight-loss practice that has been running for more than 18 years, with 14 clinics from the Bay Area down to Irvine and an online option for members anywhere in the state. It is not a national telehealth service: if you live outside California, it is not built for you. What it sells is a coached program in which medication is one tool among several. The practice says many members never take a drug at all, and its eating plan leans low-carb with healthy fats and protein.

Getting started costs money before any prescription. The first step is an assessment, listed at $99 under a limited-time offer and $379 otherwise. That covers a one-on-one appointment with a clinician, a 60-biomarker lab panel and an InBody body-composition scan in a clinic. After that you choose a membership: $99 a month online or $199 a month in clinic. Both include clinician visits, medical supervision and personal coaching, and the practice recommends meeting a clinician or coach every week.

The membership never includes the drug. JumpstartMD prescribes brand GLP-1s such as Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, oral Wegovy and Foundayo, and it will work the prior authorization with your insurer. For people without coverage, it can prescribe compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide filled by PerfectRx, its partner compounding pharmacy, and JumpstartMD bills you for that drug itself. None of those drug prices appear on the public site, so you learn them in a consultation. Compounded versions are not FDA-approved. Older options like phentermine, Contrave-style combinations and metformin are on the menu too.

The best fit is someone in California who has struggled on apps and wants accountability from people who see their numbers every week. Bargain hunters will find a cheaper all-in month elsewhere once the drug is added to $99 or $199.

Signing up, paying and canceling

What JumpstartMD's own site shows a new patient.

  • The first move is a free phone consultation with a program specialist; labs come next, then a clinician visit that reviews every result before any prescription.
  • Members with a PPO plan that has out-of-network benefits can have the claims team bill their insurer for program costs, but only if the monthly membership is paid and at least two weekly visits a month are attended.
  • HMO and Medicare plans do not reimburse the program, per the practice's insurance page, though HSA and FSA funds can cover some costs.
  • We found no published cancellation or refund terms for the membership, so ask how to stop billing during your first call.

The scorecard

JumpstartMD scored on our six published factors. See the methodology.

Real-world results69/100
Price honesty20/100
Prescriber access56/100
Formulary choice40/100
Cancellation fairness56/100
Member support74/100

What we like

  • Both semaglutide and tirzepatide available

The caveats

  • Pricing not publicly disclosed

JumpstartMD: common questions

How much does JumpstartMD cost?

Plan on an upfront assessment, listed at $99 on a limited-time offer and $379 normally, then a membership of $99 a month online or $199 a month in clinic. Medication is not included. Brand drugs may be covered by insurance, and compounded drug prices are only quoted after you meet a clinician.

Is JumpstartMD only in California?

Yes. JumpstartMD runs 14 clinics in Northern and Southern California and offers online appointments to members throughout California. Its site does not describe service in any other state, so people living elsewhere would need a different provider.

Does JumpstartMD take insurance?

Partly. It helps with prior authorization for brand GLP-1s, and members with PPO out-of-network benefits may get program costs reimbursed through its claims team if they attend at least two weekly visits a month. HMO and Medicare plans do not cover the program, while HSA and FSA funds can be used.

Does JumpstartMD prescribe compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide?

It can. When a clinician decides a compounded drug is appropriate and you agree, the prescription is filled by its partner pharmacy, PerfectRx, shipped to you, and billed by JumpstartMD. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and the practice does not post their prices publicly.

The verdict

Best for: Shoppers who want mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access. Physician-led medical weight loss clinic offering GLP-1 medications.

Ranked #483 of 548 providers we have reviewed — for comparison, read what CoreAge Rx scores, and why, ranked #1. In the ranking it sits between JM Integrated Health at #482, 51/100 above and Klarity Health at #484, 51/100 below, with the MDExam write-up the next one down.

A grade C is a ranking, not an instruction to stop looking: the closest rivals to JumpstartMD are scored on the identical rubric, so the comparison is like for like. For the wider picture, our cash-price board ranks the field on the same six factors. We have also compared it head to head: CoreAge Rx vs JumpstartMD goes to CoreAge Rx, 94/100 to 51/100.

Compare with other providers

The closest reviews to JumpstartMD by Verdict Score — the realistic shortlist if you are weighing this one up.

Pricing, states and verification reflect JumpstartMD's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on JumpstartMD's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to all rankings