Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu
Ranked #485 · Grade C

MDExam review

By Alyssa Selinger, EditorPricing checked

MDExam in brief

MDExam suits someone who prefers texting a provider to video calls and wants one monthly bill covering medication and coaching. Its program is priced from $225 a month after a $50 consultation fee that is refunded if you are not approved. The catch: it auto-ships monthly, and once a prescription reaches the pharmacy, that month cannot be refunded.

  • PriceFrom $225/mo
Visit MDExam

Assume we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Partners we work with carry a small, fixed edge in where they are listed; the scores themselves are not adjusted.

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
Not disclosed
Brand-name
Compounded only

MDExam pricing

As listed on MDExam's own site, October 2026.

MDExam plans and prices, October 2026
Consultation feePrice $50Billing One time; fully refunded if you are not approvedIncludes Medical review of your intake and history
Weight loss programPrice From $225/moBilling Recurring monthly auto-ship until canceledIncludes Telemedicine visits, nutrition and exercise coaching, compounded GLP-1 medication
Injection-free optionPrice Not publishedBilling Ask during consultationIncludes Non-injectable GLP-1 option mentioned on the home page

Our take on MDExam

MD Exam is a Miami telemedicine company built around compounded GLP-1s, mainly semaglutide, with tirzepatide also named in its disclaimers and patient stories. It says it treats people in all 50 states and has served more than 86,000 patients. The care model is text-first: you fill out an intake questionnaire, a provider reviews your chart and messages you with follow-up questions, and check-ins happen through the patient portal rather than scheduled video calls. The home page also invites you to ask about an injection-free option, though it gives no product name or price for it.

Pricing is simple on paper and thin on detail. The company's FAQ says the program costs as low as $225 a month, all-inclusive of telemedicine visits, nutrition and exercise coaching, and the medication. There is a separate $50 consultation fee, refunded in full if the medical team says you do not qualify. What MD Exam does not publish is a per-drug table, so you will not see a tirzepatide price, a dose ladder or any multi-month discount before you sign up. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved, which the company states in its terms.

Insurance is the most confusing part of the site. One answer says MD Exam accepts most major insurance plans and lets you check coverage in the portal; elsewhere it markets itself as a way to skip insurance altogether. Treat coverage as something to confirm in writing rather than assume, especially since the compounded drugs it leans on are rarely covered by any plan.

A few rough edges are worth knowing. The About page lists three named clinicians, a nurse practitioner, a DO and an MD, but also still shows unfinished placeholder profiles. And the terms send disputes to arbitration in Florida. None of that is disqualifying, but it is a reason to read the terms before entering a card.

Signing up, paying and canceling

What MDExam's own site shows a new patient.

  • The program is a recurring monthly charge that continues until you cancel through the patient portal or by email to support.
  • Cancellation only works before the next prescription goes to the pharmacy; after that the charge cannot be stopped or reversed, and medication cannot be returned.
  • The refund rules are spelled out: full refund before the medical review or if you do not qualify, nothing once a prescription is written and sent.
  • After approval, the company says medication should arrive within a business week from a mail-order pharmacy.

The scorecard

MDExam scored on our six published factors. See the methodology.

Real-world results69/100
Price honesty20/100
Prescriber access56/100
Formulary choice40/100
Cancellation fairness56/100
Member support70/100

What we like

  • Both semaglutide and tirzepatide available

The caveats

  • Pricing not publicly disclosed

MDExam: common questions

How much does MD Exam cost?

MD Exam lists its weight loss program at as low as $225 a month, including telemedicine visits, coaching and medication. A $50 consultation fee comes first and is refunded if you are not approved. The site does not break out prices by drug, dose or plan length.

Is MD Exam legit?

MD Exam is a registered company in Miami with a phone line, a patient portal and named licensed clinicians, and its terms spell out billing and refunds in detail. It prescribes compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, which are not FDA-approved. Some About page profiles are still placeholders, so check the details before you pay.

Can you cancel MD Exam anytime?

You can cancel through the patient portal or by emailing support, but timing matters. The charge can only be stopped before your next prescription is sent to the pharmacy. Once it is sent, MD Exam will not reverse that month's charge and does not accept medication returns.

Does MD Exam take insurance?

The FAQ says it accepts most major insurance plans and lets you check coverage and estimated cost in the patient portal, while the rest of the site pitches a cash program that skips insurance. Confirm coverage in writing before relying on it, since compounded GLP-1s are rarely covered.

The verdict

Best for: Shoppers who want mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access. Telehealth provider offering GLP-1 medications and other prescription services.

Ranked #485 of 548 providers we have reviewed — for comparison, read the CoreAge Rx review, ranked #1. In the ranking it sits between Klarity Health at #484, 51/100 above and MEDVidi at #486, 51/100 below, with the Nu Image Medical write-up the next one down.

Weighing it against something else? Every provider we would put in front of MDExam is ranked on price honesty, prescriber access and cancellation terms. If you would rather start from the top of the field, what GLP-1s cost without insurance is the place to start if you are still shortlisting. We have also compared it head to head: CoreAge Rx vs MDExam goes to CoreAge Rx, 94/100 to 51/100.

Compare with other providers

The closest reviews to MDExam by Verdict Score — the realistic shortlist if you are weighing this one up.

Pricing, states and verification reflect MDExam's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on MDExam's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to all rankings