Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu
Ranked #126 · Grade C

PlushCare review

By Alyssa Selinger, EditorPricing checked

PlushCare in brief

PlushCare suits people with insurance who want a regular primary care doctor to prescribe a brand-name GLP-1 and handle prior authorization. Membership is $19.99 a month after a free first month, plus a $129 first visit without insurance or your copay with it. The catch: the drug is billed separately, and compounded versions are off the table today.

  • Price$19.99/mo membership + visit
Visit PlushCare

Assume we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Partners we work with carry a small, fixed edge in where they are listed; the scores themselves are not adjusted.

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
All 50 states
Brand-name
Yes

PlushCare pricing

As listed on PlushCare's own site, October 2026.

PlushCare plans and prices, October 2026
MembershipPrice $19.99/moBilling First month free, cancel anytimeIncludes Same-day visits, unlimited care team messages, lab discounts, family memberships
First visit without insurancePrice $129Billing Per visit, on top of membershipIncludes Video visit with a board-certified primary care doctor
Visit with insurancePrice Your copayBilling In-network copay, often $30 or lessIncludes Video visit and prior authorization help
MedicationPrice Not includedBilling Billed by your pharmacy or insurerIncludes Brand-name GLP-1s if prescribed and covered

Our take on PlushCare

PlushCare is a virtual primary care practice, now owned by Transcarent, and weight loss is one service among urgent care, prescriptions and mental health. That shapes the whole experience. You book a video visit with a board-certified primary care physician, talk through history and goals, and usually get a lab order before anything is prescribed. If medication makes sense, the prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose. There is no in-house pharmacy, no shipped kit and no bundled drug price.

The fees are low because they cover the doctor, not the medicine. The membership is $19.99 a month with the first month free, and it buys same-day appointments seven days a week, unlimited messages with the care team, discounted lab tests and free memberships for family. Visits sit on top: insured patients pay their usual copay, which PlushCare says is $30 or less for most in-network plans, while the first visit without insurance is $129. PlushCare promises a full refund of the visit if a doctor cannot treat you, but the refund covers the appointment, not the membership, and prescriptions are final sales.

On drugs, the list is brand-name: Wegovy, Zepbound and Saxenda for weight, plus older options such as Contrave and Xenical, with Ozempic and Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes. PlushCare's own semaglutide page says compounded semaglutide can only be prescribed while the brands are on FDA's shortage list, which they are not, so the compounded route that earlier versions of the site described is effectively closed. Prior authorization is where PlushCare earns its keep: its team starts the paperwork automatically for injectable prescriptions, and warns it can take several business days. If coverage is denied, you pay cash at the pharmacy, and PlushCare's FAQ says branded weight-loss drugs usually cost about $1,000 a month that way, trimmed 7 to 20 percent by its discount card.

So the fit is narrow but real. With a plan that covers GLP-1s, PlushCare is an inexpensive way to get an ongoing doctor who also handles your other health needs. Without coverage, the visit is cheap but the medication is not, and you would do better buying brand drugs at a manufacturer's cash price.

Signing up, paying and canceling

What PlushCare's own site shows a new patient.

  • PlushCare asks weight-loss patients to bring records of earlier diet or exercise programs and any supporting labs, which helps when an insurer reviews a prior authorization.
  • It will not start weight-loss medication for new patients with a normal BMI, and it does not treat active eating disorders with these drugs.
  • The membership says cancel anytime, but its refund policy pays back only the visit, and only when the doctor could not assess or treat you.
  • A visit that ends in labs or a referral but no prescription is not refundable under PlushCare's policy.

The scorecard

PlushCare scored on our six published factors. See the methodology.

Real-world results70/100
Price honesty64/100
Prescriber access80/100
Formulary choice90/100
Cancellation fairness52/100
Member support74/100

What we like

  • Available in all 50 states
  • Appointments with US board-certified physicians, not nurse practitioners only
  • Virtual primary care — the same doctor can manage GLP-1s alongside other health needs
  • Owned by Transcarent, a venture-backed health platform with a named corporate parent

The caveats

  • Facing a California class action alleging deceptive subscription enrollment and unauthorized charges after cancellation
  • GLP-1 prescribing is up to the clinician at the visit — not guaranteed at signup
  • BBB complaints center on the membership cancellation process

PlushCare: common questions

How much does PlushCare weight loss cost?

PlushCare charges a $19.99 monthly membership, with the first month free, plus visits: $129 for a first visit without insurance or your copay with it. Medication is not included. Insured patients pay their plan's share; without coverage, PlushCare says branded weight-loss drugs often run about $1,000 a month at the pharmacy.

Does PlushCare take insurance for GLP-1s?

Yes. PlushCare is in network with most major insurers for visits, and its care team files prior authorizations for weight-loss injectables, which can take several business days. Coverage for the drug itself depends on your plan, and if prior authorization is denied you can still buy it at the cash price.

Does PlushCare prescribe compounded semaglutide?

Not right now. PlushCare's own page says compounded semaglutide is prescribed only while brand-name Wegovy and Ozempic are on FDA's shortage list, and they are not. Its doctors prescribe brand-name GLP-1s instead, sent to the pharmacy you choose.

Can you cancel PlushCare anytime?

The membership is billed monthly and PlushCare says you can cancel anytime. Refunds are narrow, though: a visit is refunded only if the doctor could not treat or assess you, the membership fee is not refunded, and prescriptions are final sales.

The verdict

Best for: Shoppers who want virtual primary care that can also prescribe GLP-1s. Established virtual primary-care telehealth platform (subsidiary of Transcarent, Inc., a Delaware corporation, alongside Accolade, 2nd.MD, and 98point6 by Transcarent).

Ranked #126 of 548 providers we have reviewed — for comparison, read the CoreAge Rx review, ranked #1. In the ranking it sits between PeptidesRx at #125, 72/100 above and Premium Health at #127, 72/100 below, with the Rejuve Meds write-up the next one down.

A grade C is a ranking, not an instruction to stop looking: the closest rivals to PlushCare are scored on the identical rubric, so the comparison is like for like. If you would rather start from the top of the field, what GLP-1s cost without insurance is the place to start if you are still shortlisting. We have also compared it head to head: CoreAge Rx vs PlushCare goes to CoreAge Rx, 94/100 to 72/100.

Compare with other providers

The closest reviews to PlushCare by Verdict Score — the realistic shortlist if you are weighing this one up.

Pricing, states and verification reflect PlushCare's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on PlushCare's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to all rankings