Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu
Ranked #408 · Grade C

Empower Pharmacy review

By Alyssa Selinger, EditorPricing checked

Empower Pharmacy in brief

Empower Pharmacy is a Houston compounding pharmacy, not a weight-loss clinic: it fills compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide only when your own prescriber sends the prescription. It suits patients whose doctor already prescribes compounded GLP-1s; the catch is no published prices, no insurance, and no way to start without finding a prescriber first.

Empower Pharmacy — FDA warning letters, April 2025 and September 2026. Addressed to Empower Clinic Services, LLC dba Empower Pharmacy, and public in FDA’s warning-letter database.

  • PricePriced per prescription
Visit Empower Pharmacy

Assume we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Partners we work with carry a small, fixed edge in where they are listed; the scores themselves are not adjusted.

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
All 50 states
Brand-name
Compounded only

Empower Pharmacy pricing

As listed on Empower Pharmacy's own site, October 2026.

Empower Pharmacy plans and prices, October 2026
Compounded semaglutide or tirzepatidePrice Quoted per prescriptionBilling Paid to the pharmacy or bundled into your clinic's feeIncludes Compounded medication only; no clinician visit
Two-day shippingPrice $15Billing Per shipmentIncludes Standard delivery to most states
Overnight refrigerated shippingPrice $41Billing Per shipment, Monday to ThursdayIncludes Cold-pack delivery for injectables

Our take on Empower Pharmacy

People search for Empower because it fills compounded prescriptions for clinics, hospitals and wellness centers across the country, so its name turns up behind many weight-loss programs. That is the key fact for a shopper: Empower makes the medication, but it does not diagnose, prescribe or run a weight-loss program. A doctor, nurse practitioner or telehealth service writes the prescription, names Empower as the pharmacy, and Empower compounds and ships it. Empower's own patient pages say it cannot recommend a specific physician, so there is no sign-up form to fill out for treatment itself.

Its weight-management catalog lists compounded semaglutide with vitamin B12 as an injection or as an orally dissolving tablet, and compounded tirzepatide with niacinamide as an injection or as a tablet, alongside appetite suppressants such as phentermine and lipotropic injections. Those vitamin add-ins are how compounders distinguish their products from the brand-name drugs, and like all compounded GLP-1s they are not FDA-approved.

Prices are the big unknown. Empower publishes none for patients and says it can quote only once a prescription arrives, because each compounded formula is priced individually. In practice most people never pay Empower directly: their telehealth clinic builds the pharmacy cost into a monthly program fee. If your own doctor sends the prescription instead, Empower gets your approval before filling it, and you pay by credit card, FSA or HSA card, or cash. Insurance is not accepted.

So the honest way to use Empower is as a name to ask about. If you are comparing telehealth programs, asking which pharmacy fills their compounded GLP-1 and whether it is a 503A pharmacy like this one tells you more than most marketing pages do. If you want to buy from Empower specifically, start by finding a prescriber willing to send it there.

Signing up, paying and canceling

What Empower Pharmacy's own site shows a new patient.

  • The patient path on Empower's own site is three steps: see your own provider, ask them to send the prescription to Empower, then choose home delivery or pickup at the Houston location. Most orders ship within seven business days of the prescription arriving.
  • Shipping is charged separately: Empower lists $15 for two-day delivery up to $41 for overnight refrigerated, with higher rates to Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. Refrigerated items ship overnight Monday through Thursday only.
  • Returns are not accepted under normal circumstances, which matters if your prescriber changes your dose after a large fill. The pharmacy will also transfer an existing prescription from another pharmacy if you ask.

The scorecard

Empower Pharmacy scored on our six published factors. See the methodology.

Real-world results69/100
Price honesty20/100
Prescriber access88/100
Formulary choice40/100
Cancellation fairness56/100
Member support70/100

What we like

  • Both semaglutide and tirzepatide available

The caveats

  • Pricing not publicly disclosed
  • FDA issued 2 warning letters to Empower Clinic Services, LLC dba Empower Pharmacy in April 2025 and September 2026; they are public in FDA's warning-letter database

Empower Pharmacy: common questions

How much does Empower Pharmacy semaglutide cost?

Empower does not publish patient prices. It quotes after a prescription arrives, because each compounded formula is priced on its own, and most patients pay through a telehealth program that bundles the pharmacy cost into a monthly fee. Shipping adds $15 to $41 per order.

Can I get a prescription from Empower Pharmacy?

No. Empower is a pharmacy and every medication it sells needs a prescription from a licensed prescriber outside the company. It also says it cannot recommend specific physicians, so you need your own doctor or a telehealth service willing to send the prescription to Empower.

Does Empower Pharmacy take insurance?

No. Empower explains that compounded medications lack the national drug codes insurers use to reimburse, so it accepts cash, major credit cards and FSA or HSA cards instead. Some plans may reimburse you afterward, but do not count on it.

Is Empower Pharmacy legit?

Empower is a licensed 503A compounding pharmacy and 503B outsourcing facility in Houston that fills prescriptions for many clinics nationwide. The FDA has sent it a warning letter, shown on this page, so read that alongside any program that ships Empower products.

The verdict

Best for: Shoppers who want mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access. Major 503B compounding pharmacy that supplies compounded GLP-1 medications to telehealth providers.

Ranked #408 of 548 providers we have reviewed — for comparison, read what CoreAge Rx scores, and why, ranked #1. In the ranking it sits between DreamHug Medical at #407, 57/100 above and Human+ at #409, 57/100 below, with the LifespanningRx write-up the next one down.

A grade C is a ranking, not an instruction to stop looking: the closest rivals to Empower Pharmacy are scored on the identical rubric, so the comparison is like for like. This review sits inside a bigger picture: the providers ranked on price alone puts this review in context against every program we track. We have also compared it head to head: CoreAge Rx vs Empower Pharmacy goes to CoreAge Rx, 94/100 to 57/100.

Compare with other providers

The closest reviews to Empower Pharmacy by Verdict Score — the realistic shortlist if you are weighing this one up.

Pricing, states and verification reflect Empower Pharmacy's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on Empower Pharmacy's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to all rankings