Skip to content
The GLP-1 Verdict
Menu
Ranked #374 · Grade C

CVS MinuteClinic review

By Alyssa Selinger, EditorPricing checked

CVS MinuteClinic in brief

CVS MinuteClinic offers $29 online weight-loss visits without a recurring membership, with medication and labs charged separately. It may suit adults seeking branded treatment and local pharmacy support. The low visit price is not a complete treatment budget: prescription eligibility, state availability, insurance coverage, and manufacturer-discount rules still determine access and cost.

  • Price$29 online visit; medication and labs extra
Visit CVS MinuteClinic

Assume we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Partners we work with carry a small, fixed edge in where they are listed; the scores themselves are not adjusted.

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
Nearly all states; prescribing restrictions apply
Brand-name
Yes

CVS MinuteClinic pricing

As listed on CVS MinuteClinic's own site, October 2026.

CVS MinuteClinic plans and prices, October 2026
Online weight-loss consultationPrice $29/visitBilling Pay per visit; no recurring membershipIncludes Clinical evaluation only; labs and medication extra
Selected medication with manufacturer offerPrice From $149Billing Conditional pharmacy price; not the consultation feeIncludes Selected drugs and doses for eligible cash-pay patients
Insured prescription with manufacturer couponPrice Copay from $25Billing Depends on coverage and coupon eligibilityIncludes Selected prescriptions; not a guaranteed covered price
Labs and other servicesPrice Separate; confirm quoteBilling Based on services orderedIncludes Not included in the $29 consultation

Our take on CVS MinuteClinic

CVS MinuteClinic is worth comparing as a pay-per-visit prescribing option, especially if you prefer a familiar local pharmacy to a medication subscription. CVS lowered its online weight-loss visit to $29 in August 2026 and says there is no recurring membership charge. That price covers the consultation, not the medication or lab work. You therefore need two budgets: clinical visits as needed and the prescription filled separately. For example, an appointment followed by no prescription still represents a clinical service rather than a medication purchase. Ask what follow-up visits cost and when they are expected before comparing this model with a program that bundles clinician access into a recurring charge. Our insurance coverage guide can help organize questions for your health plan.

The medication approach is also different from a compounded subscription. MinuteClinic says it does not prescribe compounded GLP-1 preparations or controlled weight-loss drugs. Its current treatment page lists branded options including Wegovy, Zepbound, and Saxenda, with oral treatments also discussed. A clinician determines whether treatment is appropriate, and some prescribing is unavailable in certain states. This is not a way to buy a particular drug simply by booking a visit. Bring your medication list, relevant medical history, previous weight-management treatment, and any existing prescription information. If you are transferring care, ask whether the clinician can continue your current prescription, what documentation is required, and whether another visit or test will be necessary. A pharmacy carrying a product does not establish that its clinic will prescribe it to you.

CVS advertises eligible medication prices as low as $149 without insurance using a manufacturer offer, or copays as low as $25 with coverage and a manufacturer coupon. These are conditional examples for selected products, doses, and patients, rather than a universal Wegovy or Zepbound price. The cash price can be higher. Ask the pharmacy for your exact product, strength, quantity, and refill price, and check whether a savings offer expires or changes after the first supply. Someone whose plan excludes weight-management medication needs a cash-price answer, while someone with coverage should check prior authorization and any plan-specific requirements. Our brand-name and compounded comparison helps explain the product distinction, but only your insurer and pharmacy can resolve your personal covered price.

The practical appeal is the combination of online appointments and an established pharmacy network. CVS describes follow-up care for monitoring, side effects, and dose adjustments, along with access to pharmacists. Local pickup can be useful when it fits your routine, but a company's pharmacy network size does not guarantee stock at your preferred location. Confirm availability before planning a refill around a particular store. CVS describes this online self-pay clinical offering for adults ages 18 to 64; that is separate from its broader pharmacy programs, Medicare savings arrangements, or employer benefit requirements. Do not assume one program's eligibility carries over to another. MinuteClinic is a sensible candidate for someone seeking branded treatment without a standing membership fee, provided the visit schedule, medication bill, state eligibility, and follow-up arrangements are clear. The $29 entry point is useful price transparency, but its value depends on the cost and continuity of the whole course of care.

Signing up, paying and canceling

What CVS MinuteClinic's own site shows a new patient.

  • The $29 online visit excludes medication and lab charges.
  • MinuteClinic says it does not prescribe compounded GLP-1 or controlled weight-loss drugs.
  • Advertised $149 cash and $25 insured medication examples require eligibility for specific savings offers.

The scorecard

CVS MinuteClinic scored on our six published factors. See the methodology.

Real-world results74/100
Price honesty20/100
Prescriber access60/100
Formulary choice54/100
Cancellation fairness92/100
Member support75/100

What we like

  • $29 online weight-loss visits with no recurring membership
  • FDA-approved branded treatments rather than compounded GLP-1 products
  • Online follow-up and local pharmacist support
  • Publishes clear exclusions for medication and lab charges

The caveats

  • The $29 fee excludes medication and labs
  • Advertised medication savings depend on product, dose, coverage, and manufacturer eligibility
  • GLP-1 prescribing is unavailable in some states
  • Online self-pay program is described for adults ages 18 to 64
  • Pharmacy inventory and clinical prescription eligibility are separate

CVS MinuteClinic: common questions

How much does CVS MinuteClinic weight-loss care cost?

The current online weight-loss consultation is $29 per visit with no recurring membership. Medication and labs cost extra. CVS advertises conditional medication savings examples, but your complete cost depends on the prescription, insurer, manufacturer-offer eligibility, and number of follow-up visits. Ask for separate clinical and pharmacy quotes.

Does CVS MinuteClinic prescribe compounded semaglutide?

No. Its weight-loss program says compounded GLP-1 preparations are not prescribed. Clinicians may prescribe branded treatment when medically appropriate, subject to eligibility and state availability. Confirm the particular product with the clinician; pharmacy availability alone does not guarantee a prescription or insurance coverage.

Is the CVS weight-loss program the same as a Caremark benefit requirement?

Do not assume they are the same. CVS describes its $29 online clinical offering for self-paying adults ages 18 to 64, while employer and insurance programs can impose their own conditions. Ask your benefits administrator whether a particular visit satisfies your plan requirements before paying or changing care.

Sources checked

Public pages read in October 2026. Offers and terms can change.

The verdict

Best for: Adults seeking branded treatment, pay-per-visit online care, and local pharmacy support. Online weight-loss clinical visits at $29 without a recurring membership; branded medication and labs are billed separately.

Ranked #374 of 548 providers we have reviewed — for comparison, read our CoreAge Rx review, ranked #1. In the ranking it sits between Concierge MD LA at #373, 60/100 above and Fidelity Medical Clinic at #375, 60/100 below, with the Framework write-up the next one down.

If that review leaves you undecided, the 7 programs we rank against CVS MinuteClinic are graded on the same six factors and listed in score order. For the wider picture, our cash-price board ranks the field on the same six factors. We have also compared it head to head: CoreAge Rx vs CVS MinuteClinic goes to CoreAge Rx, 94/100 to 60/100.

Compare with other providers

The closest reviews to CVS MinuteClinic by Verdict Score — the realistic shortlist if you are weighing this one up.

Pricing, states and verification reflect CVS MinuteClinic's public disclosures at last review; the Verdict Score is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on CVS MinuteClinic's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to all rankings